lastly,,,

So finally I have a day to go before school, and probably this has been the most successful holiday with starting up this blog.Special thanks to those who have really held my hand as I worked on this.

But today I wanted to share this with you,that all this has not been by my effort.It has taken God’s hand.

William Henley once wrote a poem that is widely known especially because of one of its phrase”I am the master of my own fate.However, there is a christian version to his poem written by Dorothy Day, a young christian schoolgirl who ran in trouble in her school because of refusing to recite the poem.When she finally ran out of options she presented her Christian version.

INVICTUS.

Out of the night that covers me,

Black as the pit from pole to pole,

I thank whatever gods may be,

For my unconquerable soul,

 

In the fell Clutch of circumstance,

I have not winced or cried aloud,

Under the bludgeoning of chance,

My head is bloody but unbowed.

 

Beyond this place of wrath and tears,

Looms but the horror of shade,

And yet the menace of the years,

Finds and shall find me unafraid.

 

It matters not how straight the gate ,

How charged with punishments the scroll,

I am the master of my fate,

I am the Captain of my soul.

 

MY CAPTAIN.

Out of the light that dazzles me,

Bright as the sun from pole to pole,

I thank the God that I know to be,

For Christ is the conqueror of my soul.

 

Since he is the sway of circumstance

I would not wince or cry aloud,

Under the rule with men call Chance,

My head with joy is humbly bowed,

 

Beyond this place of sin and tears,

That life with Him!And his the aid,

That, spite the menace of years,

Keeps and shall keep me unafraid.

 

I have no fear through the straight gate,

He cleared from punishments the scroll,

Christ is the Master of my fate,

 Christ is the Captain of my soul.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “lastly,,,

Leave a Reply

